2018 Bayside South Preseason Awards

SALISBURY, Md.- The 2018-19 preseason All-Bayside South boys basketball team was voted on by coaches to begin the upcoming season. Players we’re nominated and voted on by coaches.

Coaches in attendance unanimously voted WiHi junior guard Jaden Baker as Preseason Player of the Year.

WiHi junior guard Jaden Baker was voted South Preseason Player of the Year

Baker filled up the stat-sheet last year, with per game averages of 18.3 points, 5.3 rebounds, 4 assists, 2.2 steals, and 1 block, all while leading WiHi to an undefeated regular season.

Baker has made it clear that his intention is to bring another state championship to WiHi before he leaves. Helping Baker on that goal will be former Washington guard Dorian Stevens. Stevens, one of the top scorers in the state of Maryland a season ago, will play his senior campaign with Butch Waller’s Tribe. With the addition of Stevens, WiHi boasts one of the most dynamic backcourt tandems in the state.

Last year’s 1A East Regional runner up Snow Hill lands senior Zyaire Johnson on the preseason first-team. The combo guard will look to lead the Eagles back to the regional title game with a host of veteran leadership to help. One of the most historic programs on the Eastern Shore in Crisfield looks to return to 1A prominence in 2018. First team forwards junior Cortrey Fontaine and senior Justin Cohen hope to lead the Crabbers to their first state semifinals since 2014. 6’9 Decatur junior Churchill Bounds rounds out the first team. Bounds will try to help the Seahawks to their fourth consecutive 3A East regional championship.

Pocomoke junior center Nigel Houston was voted preseason Defensive Player of the Year

Pocomoke junior Nigel Houston was voted Preseason Defensive Player of the Year. The 6’5 big man was a menace in the paint a season ago with his shot blocking ability. Houston is joined on the defensive first team by Baker, Johnson, Bounds, Fontaine, and Bennett senior guard Saquan Cotton.





Check out the full-list below.

2018 Bayside South Preseason Player Awards

Preseason Player of the Year- Jaden Baker, JR, WiHi


1st Team

G- Dorian Stevens, SR, WiHi

G- Zyaire Johnson, SR, Snow Hill

F- Cortrey Fontaine, JR, Crisfield

F- Justin Cohen, SR, Crisfield

C- Churchill Bounds, JR, Decatur


2nd Team

G- Saquan Cotton, SR, Bennett

G- Marcus Yarns, JR, Parkside

F- Drew Haueisen, JR, Decatur

F- Harold Morton, SR, Bennett

C- Nigel Houston, JR, Pocomoke


Preseason Defensive Player of the Year- Nigel Houston, JR, Pocomoke


Preseason All-Defensive Team

Saquan Cotton, SR, Bennett

Zyaire Johnson, SR, Snow Hill

Jaden Baker, JR, WiHi

Cortrey Fontaine, JR, Crisfield

Churchill Bounds, JR, Decatur


Bayside South Preseason Honorable Mention

Antwan Armstrong, SR, Bennett

Jamyron Cannon, SR, Bennett

Ryan Waters, SR, Crisfield

Rykell Waters, JR, Crisfield

Christian Crawford, JR, Crisfield

Gabe Aluma, JR, Decatur

Theo Hobbs, JR, Decatur

Jarren Smith, SR, Mardela

Syncere Pinkett, SR, Mardela

Quamier Snell, SO, Parkside

Taiwan Hardy, FR, Parkside

Brandon Snowden, JR, Pocomoke

Charles Finney III, SO, Pocomoke

Isaiah Johnson, SO, Pocomoke

Jay Ayres, SR, Snow Hill

Curtis Blake, SR, Snow Hill

Aiden Horsey, SO, Washington

Nathaniel Lowe, SR, Washington

Yassin Gadaa, SR, Washington

Jayson Handy, SO, WiHi

Keyshawn Marshall, SR, WiHi

Matt Lowe, SR, WiHi

Dominic Bailey, JR, WiHi

Categories: High School, Sports, Sports Insider