BREAKING: Three sentenced for roles in deadly James T. Vaughn prison riot

Left to right: Ayers, Staats, and Downs

WILMINGTON, Del. – Three inmates have been sentenced following their convictions for their roles in the 2017 prison riots at the James T. Vaughn Correctional Center.

Dwayne Staats has been sentenced to life in prison without the possibility of parole for the murder, kidnapping, and assault of Lt. Steven Floyd.

Royal Downs will serve out his life sentence in Maryland, then serve three years in the Delaware Department of Corrections. Downs also took a moment to apologize for Lt. Floyd’s family, saying he’s “truly sorry”.

Jarreau Ayers has been sentenced to 123 years behind bars for the kidnapping and assault of Lt. Floyd, Patricia May, Josh Wilkinson, and others.

Categories: Crime, Delaware, Local News