Bennett baseball wins fourth 3A state title since ’06

ABERDEEN, Md.- After rattling off four runs in the fourth inning, the Bennett Clippers held on to defeat CM. Wright 5-3 to win their fourth 3A state title since 2006.

It started out as a defensive battle in the first three innings. Neither team able to get on the board as the pitching held both offenses in check. In the fourth the rain started to fall along with the Mustang pitching. C. Milton walked three straight Clipper batters with the bases loaded along with a wild pitch allowing Colby Dailey to run home from third. Next batter up and Hunter Smith knocked a single into mid left field to score Brett Swift.

The Clippers would carry a four run lead into the top of the sixth, that’s when the Mustang bats got hot. They put up three runs off of three straight batters to cut the lead to just one. In the bottom of the inning, Bennett crossed the play once more for insurance as a Paul Oscars single was mishandled by the short stop scoring Chase Illina. JMB took a two run lead headed into the top of the seventh.

If you payed attention to Bennett’s post season run, you would know that the seventh inning belonged to one Clipper in particular. Sangho Baek came in to close out the Mustangs in the seventh and close he did. Two strike outs for the junior ended the game and handed Bennett the 2019 3A MPSSAA state title.

The Clippers finished their 2019 season with a 16-5 record and a state title.

Categories: High School, Sports, Sports Insider, Video Locker