Community Foundation Honors Local Volunteers


SALISBURY, Md. - Every year, the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore celebrates volunteers across Delmarva.

Nearly 300 people were at the Fountains Conference Center Friday, celebrating the foundation's leadership and accomplishments during the past year.

They also recognized volunteer leaders.

The 2013 Mary Gladys Jones Volunteer of the Year Award was given to Alexis P. Dashield, who volunteers at the Fruitland Community Center.  For 25 years, Dashield has monitored the progress of her children in her community, coordinated volunteers for the After School Program, and provided assistance with homework and special projects.

The Community Foundation's Richard A. Henson Award for Nonprofit Excellence was presented to Coastal Hospice, as the regions outstanding nonprofit organization.

And Deborah S. Abbott was awarded the Frank H. Morris Humanitarian Award. 

Since 1984, the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore has been serving Wicomico, Worcester, and Somerset Counties, granting more than $40 million over the past decade.


© Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WMDT