2 More MD Counties Get Disaster Aid For Sandy - 47 ABC - Delmarva's Choice

2 More MD Counties Get Disaster Aid For Sandy

Posted: Updated:

HAGERSTOWN, Md. (AP) - The Federal Emergency Management Agency is adding Carroll and Montgomery counties to those designated for disaster aid stemming from Superstorm Sandy.
The additions on Monday make Baltimore County the only jurisdiction not eligible for partial reimbursement to state and local governments for expenses related to public works and services.
FEMA announced last week that Somerset County also qualifies for individual assistance. Homeowners, renters and business owners there can apply for federal funds to help repair storm damage.
Somerset received the individual assistance after the state appealed FEMA's initial rejection of the aid. The Maryland Emergency Management Agency says there's no recourse to FEMA's continued denial of individual assistance for Dorchester, Garrett, Wicomico and Worcester counties.


(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WMDT. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.